June 30: Driving Day, Part II

Thank God for the Midwestern accent. Something about it gets me really excited. Something about the nasally “a”s and the long “o”s just tickles my fancy, and I don’t use that phrase lightly. Maybe I’ve just seen “Fargo” one too many times, ya know?

I was hoping that I would meet someone with a really strong accent today, since we finally made it up to the Midwest. Luckily, our waitress fulfilled my dialect needs. It wasn’t too strong, but it was just enough to make me smile when she said “Yoo guys doing ookee?” and “Mountain Doo.” (Please excuse my awful phonetic spellings.)

Anyway, we covered 651 miles today, jumping from the desolate hay bales of South Dakota to the roaring corn fields of Minnesota, and finally into the cheese sauce of a little town called La Crosse, Wisc.

We crossed the Mississippi again today. It’s really starting to feel like we’re coming back home. We’re out of the mountains and the farms and hills are starting to look like eastern North Carolina.

Tomorrow we will head to Milwaukee and meet up with my friend Becca from UNC who lives in Wisconsin. We will also check out Summerfest, a massive music festival that happens every year. It should be good times!!

I will wrap this post up here since I don’t have anything else to report from the day. Unless I forgot something, which is always possible.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “June 30: Driving Day, Part II

  1. Katie

    yay for wisconsin, and the land of lots of Trapps…when i was up there in may we chilled in milwaukee right beside where summerfest happens…cept, it wasnt happening. but anyways, have fun!

    -kt

  2. Betsy L

    i see how it is… make time to visit becca but not me…
    haha! jk, you know i don’t hold that against you. sounds like you’re having a great time!
    miss ya buddy!
    ~B

Leave a Reply

